Although the Weglot solution can be implemented on any WordPress theme, I confirm that this plugin is compatible with the Divi theme. Have you noticed the appearance of the two small French-English flags just above 👆 under the title of my articles? A few days ago, I decided to take the plunge and translate my TipsDivi blog so that it would be available in French AND English! It only took me 15 minutes to get the watch in my hand. Yes, yes, it is possible with Weglot.

In this article, I explain in detail the procedure for quickly obtaining a multilingual site. Here is the program:

 

weglot pour Divi

Advertisement: This article contains affiliate links that you will easily recognize. Classic links are in purple and sponsored links are in pink.

 

How to get a multilingual WordPress with Weglot?

The procedure is disconcerting how easy it is! First of all, you should know that Weglot is a solution that can be implemented in a WordPress but also in any other type of CMS/framework such as ShopifyJimdo, Wix, BigCommerce, Drupal, Symfony, Laravel...

Here, we will only use WordPress.

To use Weglot in your WordPress site or blog, you will need to install the Weglot extension and create an account on the official website.

Once this is done, here are the few configuration options that are available to you from the Weglot tab in the administration of your site:

 

1 - Main configuration

weglot - configuration

The first of the actions you will need to perform is to connect the plugin with your newly created Weglot account. To do this, simply go to the Weglot tab and enter your API key. You can get it by clicking on the link next to the input field or you can find it in your Weglot account in the Project Settings tab.

Then, you will need to define the original language of your site. On the screenshot above I chose French.

Finally, you will be able to choose the destination language(s). In my case, I chose English (English on the screenshot).

 

2 - Design of the language button

weglot - design drapeaux

This configuration is optional but this is where you can:

  • choose to display your languages as a drop-down list,
  • choose to display the flags or only the name of the language in text form,
  • define the design of your flags: rectangles or rounds,
  • define whether you want to display the full language name or only the country code (French or FR),
  • add CSS if necessary.

 

3 - Position of the language button

weglot - position drapeaux

In this section, you can define the position of your language buttons. By default, when you activate the Weglot plugin, it automatically displays the language buttons in the lower right corner, in sticky mode. But you can decide otherwise:

  • you can display the flags in the main menu via the Appearance tab > Menu
  • in the sidebar via the Appearance tab > Widgets
  • with a shortcode to implement it where you want
  • or even in the source code of a Divi file.

 

4 - Exclusion of translations

weglot - exclusions

In this section, you can exclude entire pages or parts of pages so that they are not translated. This may be a willingness on your part either because you don't see any interest in it or because you want to save on word count (yes, the Weglot license is based on the number of words to translate, we will talk about it a little further down in this article...).

In the screenshot above, you can notice that I excluded some whole pages by entering the end of my URLs. But I also excluded all comments thanks to a Divi ID. By entering #comment-wrap Weglot does not translate any comments to me, so I save hundreds or even thousands of words...

 

5 - Other options

weglot - options

In this last section, you will find 3 very interesting options such as allowing the user to be redirected in his language depending on the configuration of his browser and your available languages or the translation of your AMP pages.

 

How much does it cost?

And yes, let's come to the question "money"... Weglot is indeed not "given" and that was really the reason that made me hesitate. Here is what you will have to pay to get your WordPress in multilingual:

  • for a site of less than 2000 words: Weglot is free. Let's just say I don't know many sites that are less than 2000 words long. This can be a solution to translate the homepage for example and then study the impact in terms of traffic.
  • for a translation of 10,000 words: count 9.90€ht per month or 99€ht per year.
  • for a translation of 50,000 words: count 19.90€ht per month or 190€ht per year.
  • for a translation of 200,000 words: count 49€ht per month or 490€ per year.
  • for a translation of 1,000,000,000 words: count 199€ht per month or 1990€ per year.

To learn more about the plans proposed by Weglot, I give you meet us here.

You think it's expensive? A license WPMLL or Polylang - which are plugins that also allow you to translate your WordPress sites - will cost you about 100€ht per year (more or less depending on the plans).

However, these solutions are extremely time-consuming and tedious to implement - it is said that time is money and Weglot will save you a lot of time.

I was able to test the 3 solutions and indeed, it is Weglot the lightest, fastest and easiest...

Imagine how long it can take to translate a site of about fifty pages, or worse, how much it should cost to outsource the translation via freelancers or specialized companies?

The strength of Weglot compared to other solutions is that you don't have to spend hours translating your content! No, Weglot is in charge of it and it must be said that the translation is quite successful. There are not many false notes, a few typos, certainly, but you can correct them.

However, be careful, each language added doubles your translation quota. For example, on TipsDivi, I currently have only one thirty articles published. So I chose the 50,000 word plan...

Ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow ow It has already been achieved, so I will soon have to upgrade my plan. If I wanted to add two other languages in addition to English, I would have already reached the 150,000 words translated. So you understand that this can go very, very fast!

 

Weglot and SEO....

That's another question you can ask yourself. Given that natural referencing is essential for a website, you may wonder if search engines will take into account the languages you will add with Weglot. The answer is YES, Weglot is compatible with Google's guidelines in terms of multilingualism.

The languages are added to the URL via a sub-folder. For example, https://astucesdivi.com/ is in French - https://astucesdivi.com/in/ is in English.

Everything is well translated like the Meta Title or Meta Description tag that you enter in Yoast for example and which is used to appear in search results.

By default, your URLs will remain in the original language of your site but will have a prefix such as https://mon-site.com/in/the-title-of-my-article-in-his-origin-language/. If you wish to translate them, an insert at the bottom of your articles is provided for this purpose. You will be able to manually modify the URL of your translated pages.

url

Read about it this article to better understand how Weglot manages your SEO.

 

How to add multilingual flags under the titles of articles in the Divi theme?

For this, you will need a children's theme for Divi. Once you have it, the handling is very simple:

  1. Copy the single.php file present in the Divi theme (the parent theme).
  2. Edit this file using a text editor such as SublimText for example then add the code
    just below the title surrounded by an H1 tag as you can see on line 37 of the screenshot below:single Divi
  3. Save and insert this copy into the child theme folder (at the root). It will be taken into account instead of the single.php of the parent theme.
  4. Send your child theme to the server and enable it instead of the Divi theme. If your child theme is already present and active, just add the single.php file to its root.
  5. Now your items have Weglot flags just below their title.

 

Discover all you can do with the Divi theme

 

What to do after installing Weglot?

All the actions mentioned above really took me 15 minutes: creation of the Weglot account + configuration of the extension + modification of my single.php

However, this may not be enough. Here's what you could do after installing Weglot:

 

1 - Visit all the pages to be translated

This action automates the translation and activates them. You will therefore have to review your entire site, as an Internet user might do. You have nothing else to do to activate translations.

 

2 - Correcting misprints

Once your site has been translated, you can go to your Weglot account and make corrections if you find that some translations do not meet your expectations. The handling is quite simple, you'll see.

 

3 - Enable the follow-up of your statistics

Not all Weglot users think about it, but it is important to do a few things within your Google Analytics account to be able to track the URLs visited in your translated languages. Here is the procedure:

  • Go to your Google Analytics account (you must already have created an account to link your website and track its statistics),
  • Go to the tab called "Administration" located at the very bottom left,
  • Select your property if you have more than one,
  • Go to View > "+Create a view" Google analytics Weglot
  • Name your view, for example "English version statistics", and define the time zone,
  • Click on "create a view". Google analytics Weglot
  • Then, still in "view", go to the Filter tab and click on "add a filter". Google analytics Weglot
  • Name your filter, for example "English version",
  • Filter type = "predefined filter" and then choose :
  • "Include only"
  • "Traffic to subdirectories"
  • "Container"
  • Subdirectory: " /en/ " (for English for example) Google analytics Weglot
  • Finish by "saving".

Now you can track the traffic of Internet users who visit your foreign language URLs. You may be wondering why this action is necessary since your statistics already show you the share of traffic from foreign countries?

It is precisely necessary to differentiate this well since some Internet users based in the USA or England for example are not necessarily English-speaking, they can simply be French-speaking and live abroad. This will not give you the actual traffic of your site in another language. By creating a new view with a filter in Google Analytics, you can separate French-speaking traffic from English-speaking traffic (or other languages used).

 

4 - Propose images for each language version

Even if Weglot is a magical solution, this plugin will not translate the images. It will translate the captions but not the content of the images, of course....

If you are used to promoting your blog articles on social networks and especially on Pinterest, you should certainly consider offering several versions of your images to pin. A Pinterest strategy will certainly be beneficial in promoting your articles available in your other languages. Of course, it won't take 15 minutes... and it's a lot of work you'll have to do.

 

In conclusion....

Considering proposing a site or blog in several languages is not a decision to be taken lightly. You will have understood it, it will cost you money and/or time. For my part, I have thought about it carefully and I expect to see the medium- and long-term traffic benefits that my translated pages will bring me...

weglot multilingue

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This

Bien que la solution Weglot s’implémente sur n’importe quel thème WordPress, je vous confirme que ce plugin est bien compatible avec le thème Divi. Avez-vous remarqué l’apparition des deux petits drapeaux français-anglais juste un peu plus haut 👆 en dessous du titre de mes articles ? Il y a quelques jours, j’ai décidé de franchir le pas et de traduire mon blog AstucesDivi afin qu’il soit disponible en français ET en anglais ! Cela ne m’a pris que 15 minutes montre en main. Si, si, c’est possible avec Weglot.

Dans cet article, je vous explique en détail la procédure pour obtenir rapidement un site multilingue. Voici le programme :

 

weglot pour Divi

Annonce : cet article contient des liens d’affiliation que vous reconnaitrez facilement. Les liens classiques sont en violet et les liens sponsorisés sont en rose.

 

Comment obtenir un WordPress multilingue avec Weglot ?

La procédure est déconcertante tant elle est facile ! Tout d’abord, vous devez savoir que Weglot est une solution qui peut-être implémentée dans un WordPress mais également dans tout autre type de CMS/framework comme Shopify, Jimdo, Wix, BigCommerce, Drupal, Symfony, Laravel…

Ici, nous nous contenterons de WordPress.

Pour utiliser Weglot dans votre site ou blog WordPress, vous aurez besoin d’installer l’extension Weglot et de créer un compte sur le site officiel.

Ceci étant fait, voici les quelques options de configurations qui s’offrent à vous depuis l’onglet Weglot présent dans l’administration de votre site :

 

1 – Configuration principale

weglot - configuration

La première des actions que vous devrez effectuer est de relier le plugin avec votre compte Weglot fraichement créé. Pour cela, il vous suffira de vous rendre dans l’onglet Weglot et de saisir votre clé API. Vous pourrez l’obtenir en cliquant sur le lien disponible à côté du champ de saisi ou bien vous pourrez la trouver dans votre compte Weglot à l’onglet Project Settings.

Ensuite, vous devrez définir la langue d’origine de votre site. Sur la capture d’écran ci-dessus j’ai choisi le français.

Enfin, vous pourrez choisir la ou les langues de destination. Dans mon cas, j’ai choisi l’anglais (English sur la capture d’écran).

 

2 – Design du bouton des langues

weglot - design drapeaux

Cette configuration est facultative mais c’est ici que vous pourrez :

  • choisir d’afficher vos langues sous forme de liste déroulante,
  • choisir d’afficher les drapeaux ou seulement le nom de la langue sous forme de texte,
  • définir le design de vos drapeaux : rectangles ou ronds,
  • définir si vous souhaitez afficher le nom de la langue en entier ou seulement le code pays (Français ou FR),
  • ajouter du CSS si besoin.

 

3 – Position du bouton des langues

weglot - position drapeaux

Dans cette section, vous pourrez définir la position de vos boutons de langues. Par défaut, lorsque vous activez le plugin Weglot, celui-ci fait automatiquement apparaître les boutons des langues dans le coin inférieur droite, en sticky. Mais vous pourrez en décider autrement :

  • vous pourrez faire apparaitre les drapeaux dans le menu principal via l’onglet Apparence > Menu
  • dans la sidebar via l’onglet Apparence > Widgets
  • avec un shortcode afin de l’implémenter à l’endroit que vous voulez
  • ou même dans le code source d’un fichier de Divi.

 

4 – Exclusion de traductions

weglot - exclusions

Dans cette section, vous pourrez exclure des pages entières ou des parties de page afin qu’elles ne soient pas traduites. Cela peut-être une volonté de votre part soit parce que vous n’y voyez aucun intérêt soit parce que vous souhaitez économiser des nombres de mots (eh oui, la licence Weglot se base sur le nombre de mots à traduire, nous en parlerons un peu plus bas dans cet article…).

Dans la capture d’écran ci-dessus, vous pouvez remarquer que j’ai exclu certaines pages entières en saisissant la fin de mes URLs. Mais j’ai également exclu tous les commentaires grâce à un ID de Divi. En saisissant #comment-wrap Weglot ne me traduit aucun commentaire, ainsi j’économise des centaines voire des milliers de mots…

 

5 – Les autres options

weglot - options

Dans cette dernière section, vous trouverez 3 options très intéressantes comme permettre à l’internaute d’être redirigé dans sa langue en fonction de la configuration de son navigateur et de vos langages disponibles ou la traduction de vos pages AMP.

 

Combien ça coûte ?

Et oui, venons-en à la question « fric »Weglot n’est effectivement « pas donné » et c’était vraiment la raison qui me faisait hésiter. Voici ce que vous devrez débourser pour obtenir votre WordPress en multiligue :

  • pour un site de moins de 2000 mots : Weglot est gratuit. Disons que je ne connais pas beaucoup de site qui fasse moins de 2000 mots. Ce peut-être une solution pour traduire la homepage par exemple puis étudier les retombées en terme de trafic.
  • pour une traduction de 10.000 mots : comptez 9,90€ht par mois ou 99€ht par an.
  • pour une traduction de 50.000 mots : comptez 19,90€ht par mois ou 190€ht par an.
  • pour une traduction de 200.000 mots : comptez 49€ht par mois ou 490€ par an.
  • pour une traduction de 1.000.000 mots : comptez 199€ht par mois ou 1990€ par an.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des plans proposés par Weglot, je vous donne rendez-vous ici.

Vous vous dites que c’est cher ? Une licence WPML ou Polylang – qui sont des plugins permettant également de traduire vos sites WordPress – vous coûtera environ 100€ht par an (plus ou moins en fonction des plans).

Cependant ces solutions sont extrêmement chronophages et fastidieuses à implémenter – on dit d’ailleurs que le temps c’est de l’argent et Weglot va vous faire gagner beaucoup de temps.

J’ai pu tester les 3 solutions et effectivement, c’est Weglot la plus légère, la plus rapide et la plus facile…

Imaginez combien de temps peut prendre la traduction d’un site d’une cinquantaine de page, ou pire, combien cela devrait coûter d’externaliser la traduction via des freelances ou des entreprises spécialisées ?

La force de Weglot comparée aux autres solutions est que vous ne devrez pas passer des heures à traduire vos contenus ! Non, Weglot s’en charge et il faut dire que la traduction est plutôt bien réussie. Il n’y a pas beaucoup de fausses notes, quelques coquilles, certes, mais vous pourrez les corriger.

Par contre, attention, chaque langue ajoutée double votre quota de traduction. Par exemple, sur AstucesDivi, je n’ai pour l’instant qu’une trentaine d’articles publiés. J’ai donc choisi le plan de 50.000 mots… Aïe aïe aïe ! Il est déjà atteint, je vais donc devoir bientôt upgrader mon plan. Si je souhaitais ajouter deux autres langues en plus de l’anglais, j’aurais déjà atteint les 150.000 mots traduits. Vous comprenez donc que cela peut aller très, très vite !

 

Weglot et le SEO…

Voilà une autre question que vous pouvez vous poser. Étant donné que le référencement naturel est primordial pour un site Web, vous pouvez vous demander si les moteurs de recherche vont prendre en compte les langues que vous ajouterez avec Weglot. La réponse est OUI, Weglot est compatible avec les guidelines de Google en terme de multilinguisme.

Les langages sont ajoutées dans l’URL via un sous-dossier. Par exemple, https://astucesdivi.com/ est en français – https://astucesdivi.com/en/ est en anglais.

Tout est bien traduit comme la balise Meta Title ou Meta Description que vous saisissez dans Yoast par exemple et qui est utilisée pour apparaitre dans les résultats de recherche.

Par défaut, vos URL resteront dans la langue d’origine de votre site mais auront un préfixe comme par exemple https://mon-site.com/en/le-titre-de-mon-article-dans-sa-langue-origine/. Si vous souhaitez les traduire, un encart en bas de vos articles est prévu à cette effet. Vous pourrez modifier manuellement l’URL de vos pages traduites.

url

Lisez cet article pour mieux comprendre comment Weglot gère votre SEO.

 

Comment ajouter les drapeaux multilingues en dessous des titres des articles du thème Divi ?

Pour cela, vous aurez besoin d’un thème enfant pour Divi. Une fois que vous serez en possession de celui-ci, la manip’ est très simple :

  1. Copier le fichier single.php présent dans le thème Divi (le thème parent).
  2. Éditez ce fichier à l’aide d’un éditeur de texte comme SublimText par exemple puis ajoutez le code <div id= »weglot_here »></div> juste en dessous du titre entouré d’une balise H1 comme vous pouvez le voir à la ligne 37 de la capture d’écran ci-dessous :single Divi
  3. Enregistrez et insérez cette copie dans le dossier du thème enfant (à la racine). Elle sera prise en compte à la place du single.php du thème parent.
  4. Envoyez votre thème enfant sur le serveur et activez-le à la place du thème Divi. Si votre thème enfant est déjà présent et actif, ajoutez seulement le fichier single.php à sa racine.
  5. A présent, vos articles sont dotés des drapeaux de Weglot juste en dessous de leur titre.

 

Découvrez tout ce que vous pouvez faire avec le thème Divi

 

Que faire après avoir installé Weglot ?

Toutes les actions précédemment citées m’ont réellement pris 15 minutes : création du compte Weglot + paramétrage de l’extension + modification de mon single.php

Toutefois, cela n’est peut-être pas suffisant. Voici ce que vous pourriez faire après avoir installé Weglot :

 

1 – Visiter toutes les pages à traduire

Cette action permet d’automatiser la traduction et de les activer. Vous devrez donc passer en revue tout votre site, comme pourrait le faire un internaute. Vous n’avez rien d’autre à faire pour activer les traductions.

 

2 – Corriger les coquilles

Une fois votre site traduit, vous pourrez vous rendre dans votre compte Weglot et effectuer des corrections si vous trouvez que certaines traductions ne sont pas conformes à vos attentes. La manipulation est assez simple, vous verrez.

 

3 – Activer le suivi de vos statistiques

Pas tous les utilisateurs de Weglot y pensent, mais il est important d’effectuer quelques actions au sein de votre compte Google Analytics pour pouvoir tracker les URLs visitées dans vos langues traduites. Voici la procédure :

  • Rendez-vous dans votre compte Google Analytics (vous devez déjà avoir créé un compte pour relier votre site web et suivre ses statistiques),
  • Allez à l’onglet nommé « Administration » situé tout en bas à gauche,
  • Sélectionnez votre propriété si vous en avez plusieurs,
  • Allez à Vue > « +Créer une vue » Google analytics Weglot
  • Nommez votre vue, par exemple « statistiques version anglaise », et définissez le fuseau horaire,
  • Cliquez sur « créer une vue » Google analytics Weglot
  • Ensuite, toujours dans « vue », allez à l’onglet Filtre puis cliquez sur « ajouter un filtre » Google analytics Weglot
  • Nommez votre filtre, par exemple « version anglaise »,
  • Type de filtre = « filtre prédéfini » puis choisissez :
  • « Inclure uniquement »
  • « Trafic vers les sous-répertoires »
  • « Contenant »
  • Sous-répertoire : « /en/ » (pour l’anglais par exemple) Google analytics Weglot
  • Terminez par « enregistrer »

Voilà, à présent, vous pourrez suivre le trafic des internautes qui visitent vos URLs en langue étrangère. Vous vous demandez peut-être pourquoi effectuer cette action puisque vos statistiques vous présentent déjà la part du trafic en provenance des pays étranger ?

Il faut justement bien différencier cela puisque certains internautes basés aux USA ou en Angleterre par exemple ne sont pas forcément anglophones, ils peuvent être tout simplement francophones et habiter à l’étranger. Cela ne pourra donc pas vous donner le trafic réel de votre site dans une autre langue. En créant une nouvelle vue avec un filtre dans Google Analytics, vous pourrez bien séparer le trafic francophone du trafic anglophone (ou des autres langues utilisées).

 

4 – Proposer des images pour chaque version de langue

Même si Weglot est une solution magique, ce plugin ne vous traduira pas les images. Il traduira les légendes mais pas le contenu des images, bien évidement…

Si vous avez l’habitude de promouvoir vos articles de blogs sur les réseaux sociaux et notamment sur Pinterest, vous devrez certainement envisager de proposer plusieurs versions de vos images à épingler. Une stratégie Pinterest sera certainement bénéfique pour faire connaitre vos articles disponibles dans vos autres langues. Bien évidement, cela ne prendra pas 15 minutes… et c’est un travail de fond que vous devrez accomplir.

 

En conclusion…

Envisager de proposer un site ou un blog en plusieurs langues n’est pas une décision à prendre à la légère. Vous l’aurez compris, cela vous coutera de l’argent et/ou du temps. Pour ma part, j’y ai bien réfléchi et j’attends de voir les retombées en terme de trafic, à moyen et long terme, que m’apporteront mes pages traduites…

weglot multilingue

 

Weglot : un site multilingue en 15 minutes !
3.3 pour 3 votes

D'autres Tips pour Divi :

id, Sed elit. leo ipsum ut dapibus efficitur. risus elementum massa

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This